The Bras d'Or has many friends...

Over the last decade, and even before, they have been inspired to come together to stop the damage, take stock on the state of the Lake and of its watershed, and Plan for a better future.

Their shared inspiration led to the 2003 and 2004 Bras d’Or Workshops which led to the moment of collective enlightenment when the Charter was signed. Under the Charter, Governments and Mi’kmaq leaders pledged to work together “To develop an overall Management Plan for the Bras d’Or Lakes Watershed ecosystem, and to facilitate its implementation by governments and other relevant stakeholders.” Those who signed the Charter showed the Vision, Courage, Leadership and Faith that would inspire others to follow in their steps.

These Leaders were:

Chief Terry Paul, Membertou First Nation

Chief Blair Francis, Eskasoni First Nation

Chief Wilbert Marshall, Potlotek First Nation

Chief Lester Peck, Wagmatcook First Nation

Chief Sandy Googoo, Waycobah First Nation

Mayor John Morgan, Cape Breton Regional Municipality

Warden Wayne Budge, Victoria County Warden

Duart MacAulay, Inverness County

Warden John Boudreau, Richmond County

Mayor Billy Joe MacLean, Town of Por t Hawkesbury

Peter Underwood, Deputy Minister  Nova Scotia Natural Resources

Rosalind Penfound, Deputy Minister Nova Scotia Agriculture, Aquaculture and Fisheries

Judith Sullivan-Corney, Chief Administrative Officer, Nova Scotia Office of Aboriginal Affairs

William Lahey, Deputy Minister, Nova Scotia Environment and Labour

Ian Gray, Regional Director General, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada

Neil Bellefontaine, Regional Director General, Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Garth Bangay, Regional Director General, Environment Canada